30 Days of Creativity- Day 6

June 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I usually take a banana to work every day. Sometimes I forget. If I forget too many times in a week, I have to make Alzy’s Almost Famous Oh, Shit, The Bananas Are Going Bad Banana Bread. I don’t like throwing out produce.

Alzy's Almost Famous Oh, Shit, The Bananas Are Going Bad Banana Bread

Halfway into this recipe, I realized I was out of sugar so I subbed in honey instead. Something tells me honey will taste better with the bananas than sugar anyway. Plus, it’s healthier! Bonus!

Alzy’s Almost Famous Oh, Shit, The Bananas Are Going Bad Banana Bread

INGREDIENTS

  • 2-3 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1  1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

METHOD

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Mix butter into the smashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in honey, egg, and vanilla. Mix in baking soda and salt. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Slice and serve with butter or peanut butter!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading 30 Days of Creativity- Day 6 at Alison Heller.

meta